Piper Hanriot's Blog


Black and White Photo Challenge

This week I am taking on Strawberry Singh’s black and white portrait challenge.  I remember when I was young I preferred photos in colour and thought black and white photos were boring.

These days now that I am a bit older and wiser, I have grown to like black and white photos again.  I now refer to them as classic and they certainly are.  I love looking through photos of famous actors, actresses and musicians in black and white.  They look so elegant and look as if they tell a story.

0. Blog 1

For this photo challenge, I decided to dress in black and white as well.  The first set of photos I took for this challenge were with my photo studio, however I didn’t like them, so I re-took the raw images, this time in the garden of my home in SL and I am quite pleased with how they turned out.  I then edited my photos using Pic Monkey and voila.

The photo below is the colour version, so you can compare the two.  I equally like both photos.  Pic Monkey also has a sepia image setting so you can take your photos back even further in time in brown and cream and I have to say I love using the sepia setting for some of my vintage photos.  You will also noticed that I used the sepia effect in the photo I posted in my book meme blog post.

0. Blog 2

One thing I would like to learn is how to take photos and get a shadow effect.  I don’t know if Strawberry has posted a blog on shadows in SL, but for me to achieve something like that would be awesome.

In the meantime, for those of you who would like to try this challenge for yourself, you can find it by clicking on this link  http://strawberrysingh.com/2014/02/03/black-white-portrait-challenge/

As always for styling details, please feel free to visit my Flickr page  http://www.flickr.com/photos/47089508@N08/.  Have a  good week one and all and I hope it is a creative one.  Until next time ……

Leave a Reply

Gloria Silverstone

Hidden Gems in Second Life (interior design, events & lifestyles)

The Official Carrie's Lingerie Blog

Showcasing the Classiest Sexiest Lingerie in all of Second-life

-AZUL- by Mami Jewell

High Quality Clothing for women in Second Life

SereneStyle

SL fashion finds by Serenity Couerblanc

She's got the look!

Second life styling by Keely Mistwood

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

Avi Choice Awards

favorites in a virtual world ~ http://avichoice.com ~ http://avichoiceawards.com

thewhitearmory

Welcome to The White Armory!

theta's reverie

My style. Playing dress up with some of the finest creations by talented designers in Second Life. I design for Mermaid Treasure and Boutique. www.mermaidtreasure.com

7 Deadly S{k}ins Official Website

Izara Zuta, Creator of 7 Deadly S{k}ins in the virtual world: Second Life.

Moka's Way

Styling since 2010

Body Talking by Arisia Ashmoot

Poses & Custom Poses

Around the Grid

Second Life® with Harper, Conan and Jem

Dark Chest of Wonders

Irina's ramblings and fairy tales

~Ephemera~

Life and Fashion are fleeting...stay captivated

Dress Up Dailey

The likes and loves of a little dragon in Second Life:)

Morgane batista's Blog

My witching fresh blog

