Piper Hanriot's Blog


My Book Meme

Posted in Challenges & Memes by Piper Hanriot on March 1, 2014
Tags: , , ,

Whilst travelling to work on the train yesterday morning, I decided to catch up on a little reading.  I read The Book Meme blog by Strawberry Singh, which has inspired me to take up her challenge and create my own book meme blog.

0. Bookworm 2

  1. Are you a bookworm? – Not really.  I go through phases of reading.  I tend to read books more either in the summertime or if I am travelling somewhere in the world for work.  I always take a book with me, as tend to read a lot on flights to destinations around the globe.
  2. Which do you prefer: hardcover, paperback or electronic? – Either hardcover or paperback books.  When I purchase a cookery book I prefer it in hardback, however when I purchase either a novel, fiction or fantasy book, it is usually paperback.  I have not ventured into reading an electronic book yet, as it somehow doesn’t seem as appealing as going to a book store and actually seeing all the books.
  3. Which book is your favorite? – I have lots of favourites but if I have to choose one then it would be Pride & Prejudice, as this is a classic, however it is closely followed by the book, Little Women.
  4. Which children’s book is your favorite? – Again I actually have two favourites for this being Alice in Wonderland, closely followed by James and the Giant Peach.  I remember reading these at school and how much I enjoyed reading them.
  5. What’s the last book you’ve read? – Northern Lights by Philip Pullman.
  6. Name your top five favorite writers: – Jane Austen, Philip Pullman, Sophie Kinsella, Katie Fforde and Phillipa Gregory.
  7. Name a book that had a strong impact on you: – Living Dangerously by Katie Fforde.
  8. Favorite & least favorite book genres? – My favourites have to be fantasy, fiction, romance and comedy books.  My least favourites are horror and crime novels.
  9. Favorite & least favorite book-to-movie adaptions? – This is going to be a tough one, but I have to agree with Strawberry Singh that the BBC’s adaptation of Pride & Prejudice was brilliant.  I also thoroughly enjoyed the Little Women movie which starred Winona Ryder and Christian Bale.
  10. Have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone? – No.  If I am drawn to a book cover, I will always read the back first to see if it is a book I will enjoy reading and if so then I buy it and if not I put it down and move on.
  11. Where do you usually buy your books? – There are three places I usually purchase books, either from a book store in town, online from Amazon or at the airport, especially if I don’t have time to visit the book store before I go away.
  12. Do you go to the library? – Sometimes, but not very often.
  13. How many books do you own? – At a guess I would say I have about 30 paperback books, however, if I add the cookery books, then my collection is more like 50 or 60.
  14. If you were to write a book about Second Life, which topic would you focus on? I would probably choose to write a romantic comedy based on my own experience in Second Life, the places I have visited, the people I have met and the things I have done.  I have been in Second Life just over 6 years now, so it would probably be more than one book.

Well that pretty much wraps up my book meme, however, if you would also like to take on this challenge, then please visit Strawberry Singh’s blog site and give it go http://strawberrysingh.com/2014/02/24/the-book-meme/

I have posted my book pic on my Flickr page, together with styling credits  http://www.flickr.com/photos/47089508@N08/  Have fun.  Until next time ………

Leave a Reply

Gloria Silverstone

Hidden Gems in Second Life (interior design, events & lifestyles)

The Official Carrie's Lingerie Blog

Showcasing the Classiest Sexiest Lingerie in all of Second-life

-AZUL- by Mami Jewell

High Quality Clothing for women in Second Life

SereneStyle

SL fashion finds by Serenity Couerblanc

She's got the look!

Second life styling by Keely Mistwood

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

Avi Choice Awards

favorites in a virtual world ~ http://avichoice.com ~ http://avichoiceawards.com

thewhitearmory

Welcome to The White Armory!

theta's reverie

My style. Playing dress up with some of the finest creations by talented designers in Second Life. I design for Mermaid Treasure and Boutique. www.mermaidtreasure.com

7 Deadly S{k}ins Official Website

Izara Zuta, Creator of 7 Deadly S{k}ins in the virtual world: Second Life.

Moka's Way

Styling since 2010

Body Talking by Arisia Ashmoot

Poses & Custom Poses

Around the Grid

Second Life® with Harper, Conan and Jem

Dark Chest of Wonders

Irina's ramblings and fairy tales

~Ephemera~

Life and Fashion are fleeting...stay captivated

Dress Up Dailey

The likes and loves of a little dragon in Second Life:)

Morgane batista's Blog

My witching fresh blog

