Piper Hanriot's Blog


Piper 5 Years in SL – Part 2

Posted in Hair,High Fashion,Skins by Piper Hanriot on January 29, 2013
Tags: ,

Welcome to the year 2009 and some more highlights from my 5 years in SL.

The majority of my time in 2009 was spent either playing Tiny Empires and hanging out with the friends I’d made through playing the game, or spending some quality time with my other group of friends at Moody’s Bar or I was busy organising and hosting fashion shows at Sascha’s Designs.  One of the good things about organising the shows was that I got to meet and work with some wonderful apparel designers like Bliss Couture, Son!a and Anubis Style to name a few.

0. 5th 5Outfit: Criss cross mini dress by Son!a, Hair: Jackie by ETD, Skin: Moon by Redgrave

However, after the fashion shows, I used to change back into casual attire and head off exploring SL again.  On my travels I found a great place to ski and ice skate.  The sim also had log cabins, so I rented one for a while.  I learnt how to fence with some Tiny Empire friends, which was good fun and my friend Lizzie and I used to hit the shops as well.  I have a photo of us in a store both wearing the same hair (Jackie by ETD).  It was very popular back then.

0. 5th 6Outfit: Cartel by UK Couture, Shoes: Plainers by Shiny Things, Hair: Holly by ETD

In 2009 I also went to a building class and then found a quiet sandbox in SL and had a go at building my own log cabin.  It wasn’t bad for a first attempt.  I still have a photo of the house somewhere in my extensive SL photo album.  However, as much as I enjoyed what I was doing, I really wanted to model.  I remember spending ages visiting modelling agencies and academies and getting information.  Then one day Sonia Jie invited me to a fashion show at the Glance HQ.  It was showcasing wedding gowns, some of them belonging to Sonia and there I met the wonderful Patty Cortes.

0. 5th 7Gown: Eve by Bliss Couture, Jewellery by Bijoux, Hair: Janae by ETD, Skin: Leona by Redgrave

I spoke to Patty after the show and she gave me an application form.  Once I had submitted my application, a few weeks later, I was then contacted by Ari Ashmoot for an interview.  I was nervous and excited all at the same time.  I remember spending hours at Sascha’s store carefully choosing the right outfit to wear for my interview.  With regard to “what happened next”, well that falls into the year 2010, so I will spill the beans then.

I closed 2009 feeling that after nearly 2 years, I was starting to achieve a few things.  I had reached the rank of Princess in Tiny Empires, the fashion shows at Sascha’s were improving over time and I was having lots of fun organising them.  My sense of style was also improving as I found new stores and decided that I had outgrown “dancing for lindens” so I could buy things in SL.  I hope you’ve enjoyed reading Part 2, see you tomorrow for Part 3 of my 5 year’s in SL.

One Response to 'Piper 5 Years in SL – Part 2'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Piper 5 Years in SL – Part 2'.


  1. I have that Bliss Couture dress! I remember that getting my regrave skin upgrade was huge! Hair was still quite a it behind what it is now but there are still many dresses that are still lovely that were made during that time.
    So enjoy reading this thank you for sharing Piper.


Leave a Reply

Gloria Silverstone

Hidden Gems in Second Life (interior design, events & lifestyles)

The Official Carrie's Lingerie Blog

Showcasing the Classiest Sexiest Lingerie in all of Second-life

-AZUL- by Mami Jewell

High Quality Clothing for women in Second Life

SereneStyle

SL fashion finds by Serenity Couerblanc

She's got the look!

Second life styling by Keely Mistwood

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

Avi Choice Awards

favorites in a virtual world ~ http://avichoice.com ~ http://avichoiceawards.com

thewhitearmory

Welcome to The White Armory!

theta's reverie

My style. Playing dress up with some of the finest creations by talented designers in Second Life. I design for Mermaid Treasure and Boutique. www.mermaidtreasure.com

7 Deadly S{k}ins Official Website

Izara Zuta, Creator of 7 Deadly S{k}ins in the virtual world: Second Life.

Moka's Way

Styling since 2010

Body Talking by Arisia Ashmoot

Poses & Custom Poses

Around the Grid

Second Life® with Harper, Conan and Jem

Dark Chest of Wonders

Irina's ramblings and fairy tales

~Ephemera~

Life and Fashion are fleeting...stay captivated

Dress Up Dailey

The likes and loves of a little dragon in Second Life:)

Morgane batista's Blog

My witching fresh blog

