Piper Hanriot's Blog


Medieval Mania (part 2)

Posted in Medieval by Piper Hanriot on November 7, 2010

Welcome everyone to my blog for this week.  Continuing on with the Medieval theme, this is part 2 and this week I am highlighting the amazing and incredibly beautiful designs by Bee Dumpling at The White Armory.  Earlier this year, Bee advertised in her group that she would be having a fashion show at The White Armory and was going to have a contest for women in the group to apply to model in this show.  Being a model in SL, I entered the contest and then also being a veteran organiser of fashion shows in SL,  I introduced myself to Bee, offering help if she needed it.  Once the deadline for entries had passed and notices were issued advising everyone that the models would be announced shortly, there seemed to be a slight stumbling block and to cut a long story short, I decided to withdraw from the contest as a model and Bee enlisted my help and made me her fashion show coordinator.

So in August/September this year I was very honoured to be able to help put together and host The White Armory’s first ever fashion show in SL, which took place at The White Armory runway.  Then on Thursday 4th November 2010 I had the second great honour of putting together and hosting a fashion show for The White Armory, this time at Sascha’s Designs.  Since then Bee now has other modelling agencies in SL contacting her asking if they too can promote her fabulous and stunning designs by having a fashion show for her on their sims.

Bee Dumpling began honing her virtual creative skills on structures such as castles, cottages, etc. She tells me her first attempts at clothing were simple chain maille based outfits for men. Very simplistic and rudimentary at best.  When I asked Bee where she gets her inspiration from she replied “I get inspiration for my designs everywhere. For instance, one morning I was fixing my hair and noticed the soap in the dish was a fantastic shade of lavender. So I set off that morning to capture that perfect shade in an ultra feminine gown. I have gotten inspiration from the curve of a tree branch, the crest of a wave, the elements…all manner of things. I just try and keep my senses receptive. I design gowns that I would like to wear in real life. My personal preference is soft, flowing ethereal designs that have movement and an almost ‘spiritual’ feel to them”.

So with this in mind, I’d like to show you just a handful of gowns and I must also add that all the textures for Bee’s amazing designs are all handpainted.  Two of Bee’s most recent releases being Breath of Winter and Mata Hari and a few of my personal favourites.  However, if you’d like to see more pictures, then please also take a look at The White Armory Fans Group flickr at http://www.flickr.com/groups/twa_thewhitearmory

Breath of Winter

Breath of Winter (hair by Tukinowaguma, pose by Bodytalking)

Mata Hari – Shown with the short skirt.  This dress also comes with a gorgeous floor length skirt option. (hair by UK Couture, pose by Bodytalking)

Venus Gown (hair by Tukinowaguma, pose by Bodytalking)

Eastern Shores – This is the first TWA gown that caught my eye and made me think wow! (hair by Truth, pose by Morgane Batista)

Silken Steel – My first ever TWA gown that I purchased and still my favourite.  This gown is also special as I wore it for the TWA modelling contest. (hair by ETD, pose by Bodytalking)

All skin by LAQ.

Leave a Reply

Gloria Silverstone

Hidden Gems in Second Life (interior design, events & lifestyles)

The Official Carrie's Lingerie Blog

Showcasing the Classiest Sexiest Lingerie in all of Second-life

-AZUL- by Mami Jewell

High Quality Clothing for women in Second Life

SereneStyle

SL fashion finds by Serenity Couerblanc

She's got the look!

Second life styling by Keely Mistwood

StrawberrySingh.com

A fashion and lifestyle blog about the virtual world of Second Life

Avi Choice Awards

favorites in a virtual world ~ http://avichoice.com ~ http://avichoiceawards.com

thewhitearmory

Welcome to The White Armory!

theta's reverie

My style. Playing dress up with some of the finest creations by talented designers in Second Life. I design for Mermaid Treasure and Boutique. www.mermaidtreasure.com

7 Deadly S{k}ins Official Website

Izara Zuta, Creator of 7 Deadly S{k}ins in the virtual world: Second Life.

Moka's Way

Styling since 2010

Body Talking by Arisia Ashmoot

Poses & Custom Poses

Around the Grid

Second Life® with Harper, Conan and Jem

Dark Chest of Wonders

Irina's ramblings and fairy tales

~Ephemera~

Life and Fashion are fleeting...stay captivated

Dress Up Dailey

The likes and loves of a little dragon in Second Life:)

Morgane batista's Blog

My witching fresh blog

